Dublin Accord Dublin Accord

The Dublin Accord was signed in May 2002, by the founding signatories representing; Canada, United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland and South Africa. The agreement established mutual recognition of the qualifications which underpin the granting of Engineering Technician titles.

As with the other Accords the signatories are committed to development and recognition of good practice in engineering education. The Dublin Accord is specifically focused on the mutual recognition of academic programmes/qualifications that underpin the educational base for Engineering Technicians.

The Accord acknowledges that the educational base is a key foundation for practice as an engineering technician, in each of the countries or territories covered by the Accord.

It recognises the importance of the roles engineering technicians play as part of a wider engineering team. Even though the term engineering technicians used throughout, it is mindful that these roles are often termed differently within the specific jurisdictions. It also includes roles such as; certified or professional technician, which may also be called engineering associates.

Currently there are eight signatories that make up the Dublin Accord.

View Dublin Accord page here


Page views: